My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

11:23 a.m. - 2006-10-02
WRITING ENTRIES
Monday, October 02, 2006

Currently Listening
I Can See Clearly Now
By Johnny Nash
see related

On another blog site, KWEEN OF THE QUEENS HAS ISSUED A PROCLAMATION FOR NEW ENTRIES.

MY RESPONSE TO HER COMMAND IS PRINTED BELOW.....

FIVE PIECES OF WEDDING ADVICE.

1. ENJOY your special Day. It will be over all too soon and it won�t matter if the color of your flowers was exactly right or if one of the relatives was annoyed with another .

This is the first day of the rest of your life and you will want to remember each special moment because you may never be as happy as you are today.

2. LISTEN to each other. No, really....Listen......You need to HEAR what each other is saying so you will understand what they need from you...a sympathetic ear, a shoulder to lean on, or supportive reassurance.

3. PICK your battles. It is useless and a waste of time to fight over everything. Like Dr. Phil says, �DO YOU WANT TO WIN OR DO YOU JUST WANT TO BE RIGHT?"

4. CELEBRATE special occasions, holidays, family get-together, birthdays with a great meal, decorations and fun. Make some celebrations your own. You don�t have to spend them with your parents or in-laws every year.

5. SPEND TIME with each other. You are more than a couple or a Mom and Dad. Make sure you take time to be alone with each other and talk about other subjects besides bills and children and family problems.

AND THE SECOND ENTRY IS........
MY ROYAL MENTOR

I tried to think of someone who made a huge impact in my life. Of course, my mother, my husband, my son and some friends are very important.

But, as far as my career; I think there was one supervisor who really made me feel like I did a good job. When I started my career in Insurance Claims, I was a secretary. After a few years, I wanted to move up. My boss told me I was such a great secretary, he didn�t want to promote me because he would have to find another. I told him that just because I did a good job was no reason to hold me back. Finally, after talking to me, a year later, he did put me in for a promotion.

I had been doing the job for a couple of years and doing well. I had a supervisor in Indianapolis who had a reputation of being gruff and unfriendly. Everyone was afraid of him.

He came to our office once a year to review our individual files and grade us. This was a huge part of our raise for the year. He told me he could only give me a B because he never gave out an A......ever.... then he changed it to a B+.

But what really made me feel he was proud of me and believed in me was a year later.

Our company was installing computers for the adjusters. After our local office was taught how to use the computers, the company decided it would be faster and possibly easier to teach adjusters by using adjusters who had just been taught. They would have the job in common and be able to show how the computer would make their job duties easier to complete. This supervisor called me and told me he wanted me to go out with the teaching group because it would make him look good. That was when I knew he believed in me and felt I had the ability to do a great job. I went out on several two week training sessions over the next two years and even considered joining the training team.

This supervisor finally was forced to retire and I miss him even now.

HAVE A GREAT DAY.

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!