My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

4:51 p.m. - 2006-06-29
day of retirement
Thursday, June 29, 2006

Currently Reading
The Hidden
By Kathryn Mackel
see related

YES, IT IS TRUE, as of 4:00 P.M. Daylight Savings time, I AM OFFICIALLY RETIRED.

I don't know how to feel about it yet. It just doesn't seem true. I feel like I am going on a vacation for a couple of weeks. I guess it will take about 3 weeks before it seems like it is real.

The agency I work for had a small lunch for me of pizza, salad, buns,
some kind of pasta dish with spicy sauce, fruit, soft drinks and a cute
cake.

The cake has a picture of a sports car with the top down, the rear of the car was crumpled up like an accident had happened and a box in the back of the car said CLAIMS CLOSED. Happy Retirement!!

I also got flowers, a gift card for $50 for a choice of 3 restaurants,
a $70 gift card for Barnes and Noble and $1000 from my boss!!!

We do have a busy weekend already. Friday I will be cleaning my house
and getting groceries and doing laundry as usual. Saturday I am getting my hair cut, we are driving to a memorial service for a relative and then driving to Kankakee, Illinois to meet my cousin and her husband to
spend the afternoon and evening together, have dinner, spend the
night in a motel and have breakfast together and just talk and catch up.

Sunday we will come home. Monday, we have a couple of errands to run.

Then it is July 4th and we....I mean....I HAVE THE REST OF THE WEEK
TO MYSELF. I will get getting ready to fly to Texas to visit my 2 sisters
for a whole week. Then I will be home and ready to start my NEW LIFE.

I don't plan on becoming a hermit and I dont plan on dressing in pj's and a robe all day either.

I am updating my list of books I want to read, I am planning on learning
Sign Language. (my sister in law is here because of the memorial
service and she already asked me if I have started studying yet. LOL)

More Later on

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!