My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

6:48 p.m. - 2006-06-27
training the co worker
Tuesday, June 27, 2006

Currently Listening
Take This Job & Shove It
By Johnny Paycheck
see related

In spite of writing the blog last
week on LOVE, LAUGH AND LIVE, I find that I still get impatient.

I have been training a co-worker to take over my job. She has been
an insurance adjuster before. In fact, we worked for the same company
for a period of time.

She has been sitting with me for over 2 weeks while I showed her what
I do and explained the procedures. This week (the third week), because
my computer monitor took a dive yesterday; we were working out of her
office. It was a good opportunity for me to get her to do the work while I
watched her. I had noticed last week that she didn't want to try anything;
she wanted me to do the work while she watched. Well, Duh....

When I came to the agency, I created the Claims Dept. and I planned out
how it would run. It has taken me 6 years to get it to this point. I am very proud of what I have accomplished. I do things a certain way for a particular reason...it works best that way. In spite of my explanations, she is doing things her own way. I can already see that she will need more time to accomplish the same things I did because she is not doing it the way I told her.

Today I was going to correct her but I decided it wasn't worth the effort.
Last week, I told her to take the open claims from A through L. and check them with the various insurance companies on whether there were payments, activitity by the adjuster, if the claim was closed and so on. I did from M through Z. It took me 2 days to do my half and then I started re-checking the A through L. It took me one day to get to H.

She was still working on K today.

My computer was finally brought back to life about 10 A.M. today. I started checking the claims going backward. Z through L. I was
on R. when I realized she wasn't even working on the claims. She was in the office of her previous supervisor helping HER do her work.!!!

So, I will finish up the rest of the alphabet tomorrow because I want to do
the end of the month report on Thursday. It won't be the entire month but at least I know I have given my boss as much information as possible.

Who knows what will happen next month.

And besides, I have 2 days left and it won't be my problem anymore.

I did write a closing memo for my boss which I will give him on Thursday.
I went in today and changed it to "co-worker and I" did .....instead
of "co-worker" did because I did 75% of the work.

I guess I am a bit obsessive about my work but I have always believed
in doing my job while I am there. I guess I will have to find a new plan
for living the rest of my life. I hope I don't sound like a witch but this is important to me and I just get upset when it isn't done properly.

Of course, I am well aware that any employee can be replaced....but
the work isn't always done as well.

I will be writing again later this week.

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!