My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

6:02 p.m. - 2006-06-16
music, music, music
Friday, June 16, 2006


Currently Listening
Paint the Sky with Stars: The Best of Enya
By Enya
see related


I love music...all types of music...well, nearly all kinds...

I don't like rap very much. I don't like dirty language and talking about
killing policemen (my husband is a retired 20 year policeman). I don't
like the grabbing of the crotch and that type of behavior. Yes, I am a bit
of a prude.

But, have you noticed how the sound of a song can change your mood?
I heard a song on SO YOU THINK YOU CAN DANCE this week that I haven't played for a long time. Instantly, I was back in the moment and loving that song.

It is called CARIBBEAN BLUE by Enya...
It's just music but it makes me think of being on a boat flying across
the water. it makes me feel good, relaxed, yet excited, smelling the
fresh air and the water and watching the waves. The tv show played
the song for a ball room dance. The girl contestant was dressed in a
blue flowing gown and she just seemed to fly around the room. It was
beautiful and made me want to listen to the song over and over.

I love most of Enya's music and songs. I play them when I am feeling stressed and they relax me so quickly. I can close my eyes and
just daydream.

Even my cats are affected by music that I play. I have a couple of CD's
that play Irish and Celtic music and one has a lot of bird and nature songs.
The cats will lay down and just relax, sleep and roll around stretching.
I guess they think they are outside.

When my son was about 2 years old, I played LPs most of the day. When there wasn't anything interesting on tv, I could always put a pile of LPs on the record player. There were several of the Clint Eastwood
soundtracks like HANG 'EM HIGH, A FIST FULL OF DOLLARS and FOR A FEW DOLLARS MORE. I played them often. The music was written by some very talented musicians. It was a song from Hang 'em High, I believe, that was very somber and slow... and everytime the song came on, my 2 yr old son would cry. He was normally a happy baby but no matter what he was playing with, he would cry when that particular song came on. I finally decided to see what it was titled and it was about prisoners going to the hanging. And, yes, my grown up son has always loved music...maybe even more than I do.

He was a great fan of Spike Jones, and some other older music makers. He knows all about all the current popular groups and music stars.

As I was saying, there are just some songs that totally get to me.

I love BLUE by Leeann Rimes, CRYING, TRAIL OF BROKEN TEARS, BAREFOOT, WASH ME CLEAN by k.d.lang, COME AWAY WITH ME
by Norah Jones, DON'T BOTHER and TIMOR by Shakira. I have all of Dixie Chicks CDs including the new one which I just purchased last week but haven't played yet.

I love HEY, LITTLE GIRL by Chris Isaac, most of MARTY ROBBINS
western songs. BAD BOYS....ooh, love it, love it. MY HUMPS, love it
so much... "Don't want no drama, you don't want no drama".....

CHICAGO (the play) with HE HAD IT COMING.

I also love banjo music, especially FOGGY MOUNTAIN BREAKDOWN and DUELING BANGOS

I love Bob Seger especially on a road trip with my husband..

So, now you know, I am a closet music lover.

What kind of music do you like?


Have a great night

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!