My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

3:07 p.m. - 2006-05-07
sunday info
HAPPY SUNDAY!!!

We rented several DVDs over the weekend and I want to comment on the three that I watched.

First was Brokeback Mountain. What a good movie about two people who loved each other very much but could not allow others to know. It was sad to see how they longed to be together but could not figure out a way to make a life that would allow them to do so. It also sad to see the betrayal of the wives, especially when the women loved their husbands so much. The acting was great and believeable. I would recommend it for anyone who believes in love.

The second DVD was Memoirs of a Geisha. I read the book before it became popular and loved the story. Seeing it expressed on film was almost as great. The actors were all wonderful, the scenery was beautiful. I would have liked to have see how the geisha put on the make-up in a more detailed part of the movie. I would have liked to have seen more of the kimonos because they are so gorgeous. The love story was very simply portrayed although the love, was so deep. I would also recommend this DVD.

and the Third was the best.
Derailed....
A suspense thriller about ad exec and family man Charles Schine (Clive Owen) who meets business woman, Lucinda (Jennifer Aniston), on the commuter train to Chicago. Flirtation quickly escalates, but their fling turns dangerous when a violent criminal, LaRoche (Vincent Cassel), enters the picture. With their lives now thrown terrifyingly off-course, they must figure out how to turn the tables on LaRoche and save their families.

I figured out part of the plot early but I was still surprised by some of what happened. It is an exciting film from the first moment to the final. This is a great film to watch.

***
I talked to one of my sisters today. Her ex husband just got engaged. We are all happy about this. My sister knows the woman and likes her and the children know her too. She has a son about my nephew's age and the boys met at Boy Scouts. We are hopeful that this softens up the relationship between the ex's family and my sister so everyone can be ok and benefit from this. My sister has a man in her life also but they are not thinking of marriage at this time. I think they would live together and maybe they will feel more able to do so since the ex is getting married now. No date has been set but everyone seems happy about it.

I have 8 weeks more of work. I finally told my boss that I was retiring the end of June last Thursday and gave him a 2 page memo on suggestions on handling the claims once I am gone. I will more than willing to train anyone he wants to take over the job. We had hoped he could use a couple of people within the agency but now we are not sure they can handle it. The next 8 weeks should fly by, I hope.

I have several ideas of things I want to do once I am retired. First of all, of course, I want to clean out the house. We have lived here about 5 years and although I have gone through the rooms a couple of years ago. It really needs another full review. I want to get rid of a lot of things that I have hung on to for no real reason.

I want to put together some albums of things from my career, just to look at when I am very old to see what I accomplished and who I was then.

I want to continue my journal and enjoy it as much as I have for the past year.

I will be going through my clothes and giving a lot away. It is fun now to think that I can get more casual clothing and will be feeling much more relaxed in the months to come.

I want to learn Sign Language. My SIL is quickly losing her ability to speak and even though she lives far away; we will be going on a cruise together and I think it would be fun to surprise her by signing. I have until November and I have been told it is the quickest language to learn.

I want to get back into shape and go to Fitness USA regularly. This is another goal I want to reach by the end of summer.

I want to read, read, read. and watch TV and spend lots of time with my three cats.

The most important thing is I want to get renewed in my marriage, spend much more quality time with my wonderful husband and make his life better for him.

Yesterday he asked me to use the clippers and cut off the rest of his hair (he is bald on top) and it was so much fun. I really enjoyed doing it. He still has some very short hair on the rest of his head but it looked great.

We have a weekend trip planned to meet my cousin and her husband over 4th of July weekend and we hope to spend the actual holiday doing something special this year.

We have a 5 night cruise from Galviston, Texas to Mexico over Thanksgiving and I would love to visit my sisters in Texas in late July, if possible.

So enough about me.

here is a great link. Even if you don't care about the messge, the pictures are so sweet. I guarantee you will say "Ahhh" at least once. or at least, get chills.

http://www.wisehearts.com/yaam.html

I may have posted this before but it is worth reposting.

I thought it was quite interesting! And I know in about 30 seconds you're going do what I did and find
the nearest mirror....

I often heard about the 2-way mirror but could never tell. So, I thought you might be interested. Do you
know how to determine if a mirror is 2-way or not?

This is not to scare you, but to make you aware. A policewoman who travels all over the US and gives seminars and techniques for businesswomen passed
this on.

When we visit toilets, bathrooms, hotel rooms, changing rooms, etc., how many of you know for sure that the seemingly ordinary mirror hanging on the wall is a real mirror, or actually a 2-way mirror (I.e., they can see you, but you can't see them)?

There have been many cases of people installing 2-way mirrors in female changing rooms. It is very difficult to positively identify the surface by just looking at it.

So, how do we determine with any amount of certainty what type of mirror we are looking at? Just conduct
this simple test:

Place the tip of your fingernail against the reflective surface and if there is a GAP between your fingernail and the image of the nail, then it
is a GENUINE mirror.

However, if your fingernail DIRECTLY TOUCHES the image of your nail, then BEWARE, FOR IT IS a 2-WAY MIRROR!

"No Space, Leave the Place." So remember, every time you see a mirror, do the "fingernail test." It
doesn't cost you anything.

Remember: "No Space, Leave the Place"

Ladies: Share this with your girlfriends, sisters, daughters, etc.

Men: Share this with your wives, daughters-in law, MOthers, girlfriends and/or friends.

And to my friends...please pass this message to all your online friends.

Remember: "No Space, Leave the Place" -- Better safe than sorry.

@@@
MAY OR MAY NOT BE TRUE
The Rambo Granny of Melbourne, Australia

Gun-toting granny Ava Estelle, 81, was so ticked-off when two thugs raped her 18-year-old granddaughter that she tracked the unsuspecting ex-cons down - - and shot off their testicles.

The old lady spent a week hunting those men down -- and when she found them, she took revenge on them in her own special way, said Melbourne police investigator Evan Delp. Then she took a taxi to the nearest police station, laid the gun on the sergeant's desk and told him as calm as could be:

'Those bastards will never rape anybody again, by God.' Cops say convicted rapist and robber Davis Furth, 33, lost both his penis and his testicles when outraged Ava opened fire with a 9-mm pistol in the hotel room where he and former prison cellmate Stanley Thomas, 29, were holed up.

The wrinkled avenger also blew Thomas' testicles to kingdom come, but doctors managed to save his mangled penis, police said. The one guy, Thomas, didn't lose his manhood, but the doctor I talked to said he won't be using it the way he used to, Detective Delp told reporters. Both men are still in pretty bad shape, but I think they're just happy to be alive after what they've been through.

The Rambo Granny swung into action August 21 after her granddaughter Debbie was carjacked and raped in broad daylight by two knife-wielding creeps in a section of town bordering on skid row. "When I saw the look on my Debbie's face that night in the hospital, I decided I was going to go out and get those bastards myself 'cause I figured the Law would go easy on them," recalled the retired library worker. "And I wasn't scared of them, either-- because I've got me a gun and I've been shootin' all my life. And I wasn't dumb enough to turn it in when the law changed about owning one."

So, using a police artist's sketch of the suspects and Debbie's description of the sickos', tough-as-nails Ava spent seven days prowling the wino-infested neighborhood where the crime took place till she spotted the ill fated rapists entering their flophouse hotel.

I knew it was them the minute I saw 'em, but I shot a picture of 'em anyway and took it back to Debbie and she said sure as hell, it was them, the oldster recalled.

So I went back to that hotel and found their room and knocked on the door and the minute the big one, Furth, opened the door, I shot 'em right square between the legs, right where it would really hurt 'em most, you know.
Then I went in and shot the other one as he backed up pleading to me to spare him. Then I went down to the police station and turned myself in.

Now, baffled lawmen are trying to figure out exactly how to deal with the vigilante granny. What she did was wrong, and she broke the law, but it is difficult to throw an 81-year-old woman in prison, Det. Delp said, especially when 3 million people in the city want to nominate her for sainthood and a medal.

@@@@

Thought you might like this.....funny, yet appalling.

Time once again to review the winners of the Annual "Stella Awards".

The Stella Awards are named after 81 year old Stella Liebeck who spilled hot coffee on herself and successfully sued McDonald's (in NM). That case inspired the Stella Awards for the most frivolous, ridiculous, successful
lawsuits in the United States.


Here are this year's winners:

5th Place (tie):
Kathleen Robertson of Austin, Texas was awarded $80,000 by a jury of her peers after breaking her ankle tripping over a toddler who was running inside a furniture store The owners of the store were understandably surprised at the verdict, considering the misbehaving little toddler was Ms. Robertson's son.


5th Place (tie):
19-year-old Carl Truman of Los Angeles won $74,000 and medical expenses when his neighbor ran over his hand with a Honda Accord. Mr. Truman apparently didn't notice there was someone at the wheel of the car when he was trying to steal his neighbor's hubcaps.

5th Place (tie):
Terrence Dickson of Bristol, Pennsylvania was leaving a house he had just finished robbing by way of the garage. He was not able to get the garage door to go up since the automatic door opener was malfunctioning. He couldn't re-enter the house because the door connecting the house and
garage locked when he pulled it shut. The family was on vacation, and Mr. Dickson found himself locked in the garage for eight days. He subsisted on a case of Pepsi he found, and a large bag of dry dog food. He sued the homeowner's insurance claiming the situation caused him undue mental
anguish. The jury agreed to the tune of $500,000. In my opinion this is so outrageous that it should have been 2nd Place!

4th Place:
Jerry Williams of Little Rock, Arkansas, was awarded $14,500 and medical expenses after being bitten on the buttocks by his next door neighbor's beagle. The beagle was on a chain in its owner's fenced yard. The award was less than sought because the jury felt the dog might have been just a little provoked at the time by Mr. Williams who had climbed over the fence into the yard and was shooting it repeatedly with a pellet gun.

3rd Place:
A Philadelphia restaurant was ordered to pay Amber Carson of Lancaster, Pennsylvania, $113,500 after she slipped on a soft drink and broke her coccyx (tailbone). The beverage was on the floor because Ms. Carson had thrown it at her boyfriend 30 seconds earlier during an argument.

2nd Place:
Kara Walton of Claymont, Delaware successfully sued the owner of a nightclub in a neighboring city when she fell from the bathroom window to the floor and knocked out her two front teeth. This occurred while Ms. Walton was trying to sneak through the window in the ladies room to avoid
paying the $3.50 cover charge. She was awarded $12,000 and dental expenses.

AND*..

1st Place:
This year's runaway winner was Mrs. Merv Grazinski of Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. Mrs. Grazinski purchased a brand new 32-foot Winnebago motor home. On her first trip home, (from an OU football game), having driven onto the freeway, she set the cruise control at 70 mph and calmly left the drivers seat to go into the back & make herself a sandwich. Not surprisingly, the RV left the freeway, crashed and overturned. Mrs. Grazinski sued Winnebago for not advising her in the owner's manual that she couldn't actually do this. The jury awarded her $1,750,000 plus a new
motor home. The company actually changed their manuals on the basis of this suit, just in case there were any other complete morons around.

MORE NEXT TIME.



analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!