My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

5:57 p.m. - 2006-05-01
RETIREMENT ANNOUNCEMENT
Monday, May 01, 2006

Currently Reading
Magic Hour : A Novel
By Kristin Hannah
see related

Today I want to mention an article I read about in the USA today last week while I was on vacation. I looked it up on Google and there was nothing on it but I think it is worth discussing.

There is a new drug fad going around, particularly among the middle schools.

It is called Cheesing. It is a mixture of about 5% heroin and an over the counter cold medicine or something like Tylenol PM. It makes the person feel high and then they get sleepy and relaxed and out-of-it. What makes this so newsworthy is that it only costs about $1 to $5 to get a few powder mixtures which they can snort or swallow. It is dangerous, of course, and also gets them a taste of heroin which they will want more and more. It has been a real problem in the Dallas area but now it is spreading all over the country. It is called cheesing because it is a light yellow-orange color. It is typically wrapped in a small piece of newspaper and is easily given to another person. You may want to discuss this with your children and your friends.

On to other things.....

I returned back to work today and it wasn't too bad. The person who was handling the claims for me did a fair job and I am getting the claims completed and sorted out. Tomorrow I expect to be able to record several pages of payments and by Wednesday I hope to check all the open claims to do my monthly report on the claims payments and count to date this year.

I also plan to be talking to my boss about who he wants to handle the claims when I retire.

RETIRE!!!!!

Yes, my husband and I discussed retirement during our vacation and he wants me to retire as of July 1st. I want to give my boss as much notice as possible because I know he is going to have a melt-down and get panicky. I didn't talk to him today because he was upset about the way the claims were handled while I was gone and I decided I needed him to be calmer when I tell him.

So, I am making lots of plans and lists of things I want to do and need to do once I am retired. Naturally I want to go through the entire house and get rid of junk, things that can be donated to Good Will, etc. I also want to get into an exercise program in the morning, decide what day I will clean the house, do laundry and grocery shop because I don't want to do it all in the same day.

I have books I do want to read and some other projects I want to look into.

This should become an exciting time for me and I am certainly looking forward to it. We realize this is going to be a major change in our lives and we want to be as much in control as possible when it happens. The only way it will change is if we have something unexpected come up.

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!