My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

8:50 p.m. - 2006-04-18
VACATION PART 1
April 18, 2006

GREETINGS FROM TEXAS...

We have been traveling in Texas since Saturday...we stopped to visit Karaokesinger61 and Bbshead...my sisters. We spent Saturday and Sunday with them and left Monday morning They are both busy. Bb is working a new job. She works 6 nights a week for the Small Business Admin. putting checks into the computer for payment to thehurricane victims. She is enjoying the work but said the hours are killers. Fortunately, she is able to sleep during the day when Karaokesinger and her kids are at school.

Karaokesinger61 is still teaching but hoping to change her position. I can't say too much as she isn't discussing it yet. Kids are doing very well in school, have lots of friends and are happy, except when they are not....like most kids.

The weather has been extremely hot....I do mean HOT. Everyone in Texas says this is summer weather temps, not April....

We drove to Galveston yesterday and toured a oil rigger exhibit, saw the Great Storm movie about the hurricane of 1900. We visited the tallship Elissa which was found in a dump and identified as one of the older ships from Scotland. It has been refurbished. IT was so hot, we could barely stand to be outside.

Today we drove to Corpus Christi, and Padre Island. We drove along the National Seashore Park. We drove along the Gulf and as we were driving back, we got stuck in the sand. We were concerned we might not get out by were able to finally get some traction with the helping push of a man to creep along until the sand got harder...big mistake to try driving but other trucks had done it before us.

Tomorrow we are hoping to tour the Gulf and take a short boat/ferry ride. But it is SO HOT!!!

I will write more....using a laptop which I never use and it gets to be a real chore because I am tired.

More Later

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!