My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

3:24 p.m. - 2006-02-12
Cats I have loved
Sunday, February 12, 2006

Currently Listening
3 Little Kittens - 26 Songs, Stories & Nursery Rhymes
see related

HAPPY VALENTINE'S DAY!!!!

Here it is Sunday again. It's a beautiful sunny day (sort of- with occasional clouds). It was snowing big flakes this morning when I got up. There's not too much on the ground and the day is just very peaceful now.

My son and dil just stopped by for a few minutes. It is so nice to see how happy they are. They are looking for a pet kitten or cat and have been checking a few pet refuge places. So far, they haven't found the one they really want. My son was raised with having a pet most of his life. We started out with dogs but got him a kitten when he was about 8 years old. Most of our cats lived long lives so he has always had a cat around.

Our first kitten was named Chessie because she looked like the symbol for the Chesapeke Railroad.

She lived to be about 20 years old and was always our son's pet. He carried her around like a baby. She would put her hind legs around his waist and he would carry her in front of him like she was in a sling. She really loved her "boy". If our son was being scolded by his father, Chessie would get right in my husband's face and meow at him loud enough that he would stop talking to our son. She slept with our son at night and laid by his side when he was playing on the floor with his toys. When she got older, she laid on his chest and slept. She was a good companion for him.

We had another cat named BIF. It started out to be Big Foot. He was a very large tomcat. Our son picked him out at a farm down the road from where we lived in the country at the time. He had very large feet and that is how his name was selected. He was a very loving cat too. He also lived to be about 18 or 19 years old.

There were times when our son wasn't home that Chessie and Bif would climb into my lap. Chessie usually took the bigger part of my lap and Bif would climb onto my shoulder. So I would have one with its top half laying on my shoulder and the bottom half sitting on my lap and the other laying on the rest of my lap. They were content that way. I had a lapful of cats and I would read or watch television.

When I didn't feel well or had a migraine, I would have one or both of the cats as company in bed with me. They always knew when I didn't feel well and would lay on the bed watching over me.

When we lived in the country, a friend brought over a very tiny long haired kitten. I named her Natasha and called her Tasha for short. She was so tiny when her fur grew out, she looked like a little lady walking in a hoop skirt with a little bustle in the back. Her tail would curl over her body like a little parasol

She was so cute. But living in the country can be dangerous to a tiny kitten and she never came home one day. Our cats were allowed outside (in the country) and in the late afternoon, they would jump up on the window ledge outside and we let them in for the night. We also had two kittens outside that we named Domino (black and white) and Sugar (grey) I thought that was clever - Domingo Sugar. Well, one ate something and died and the other climbed under our truck and was killed. That was the time we decided all our pets would always be inside pets and outside only during the day.

After we moved back into the city and Chessie had been gone a few weeks. We noticed that Bif, who was getting up in pounds and years seemed lonely.

We were out in the country near Thanksgiving and a big grey cat was hanging around our Aunt's house. We asked about the cat. They said it had appeared one day that week. It was a stray.

We named her Dakota. She had 4 on the floor, a motor that purred, yellow headlights and my husband wanted a new Dakota truck....the cat was cheaper than a truck. She is still living with us. She must weigh nearly 20 lbs now.

My husband had been visiting the Pet Refuge which is run by the City and had taken some old towels and blankets over. He kept watching this cat and was just taken with her.

So my husband found Chloe.

She was a cat with an attitude, a broken tail and a habit of biting. She did warm up to us in a few weeks and she adored my husband because he had visited her at the Pet Refuge and brought her home. She lived with us for several years. We think she was about 4 or 5 when we rescued her.

At some point, I had a brain lapse and we adopted a cat I named Rosie. She had long black hair and was very inquisitive and very smart. I named her after Rosie O'Donnell. She tried my patience over and over. She loved to be held, she loved to cuddle, but she also loved to get into trouble!

She once watched my husband put a chest together for my stereo. After he put it into place. She looked at the chest, looked at the tv entertainment center next to it and then looked at the top of the patio verical shades and I KNEW what she had in mind. Every time, she looked like she was ready to jump, I would yell NO. One night, right after we went to bed, I heard a crash. She had jumped up to the entertainment center's top and knocked off one of the items onto the floor.

Next, I tried squirting water at her with a pump sprayer that had quite a range. It worked for a few times. One evening, I had just squirted her and went back to reading the paper. She meowed loudly. I looked up and she was on the entertainment center's top waiting for me to squirt her!!!!

We decided she needed a new home. And after she was gone, we moved a few months later. We still had Dakota and Chloe.

A few months ago, Chloe was not eating and we knew something was wrong. We took her to the vet, paid for some tests and thought she was getting better. When we took her home again, she still wouldn't eat. Finally we knew we had to give her peace and had her put down. She was a funny character and we miss her very much.

We still had Dakota and she seemed lonely and quiet. So we went kitten shopping again. We decided to get a kitten because it had been so many years since we had raised one. I picked the one based on all the wrong reasons. I picked the one who was frightened and huddled in a corner of the cage. She just squeaked instead of meowing and she was about 8 weeks old.

This time my husband named the kitten.
Her name is Callie for calico. She is now 8 months old and coming out of a few of her young kitten habits and turning into a very nice young cat.

After Dakota passes on, I am sure we will pick another cat or kitten. I don't know what it will look like but I do know we will love it very much.

Ok, I am getting too enthused about another kitten so I better stop now.

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!