My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

9:03 a.m. - 2005-12-31
2006

Saturday, December 31, 2005

Currently Reading
The Mermaid Chair: A Novel
By Sue Monk Kidd
see related

HAPPY NEW YEAR TO 2006!!!

I am taking a tip from other journals and revisiting my 2005 year.

My health has been fairly good. I had some thyroid nodules checked early in the year with a fine needle biopsy and there was nothing to worry about. The nodules are in the area of my voice box and therefore, my voice sometimes sounds raspy but I can live with that. I try to drink water at work in the mornings because I do have to talk on the phone.

My husband and I celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary. It sure doesn't seem that long. We have basically grown up together. We met when we were 15 at school and started dating when we were seniors. We have had a good marriage and gone through the ups and downs of daily living together. We have a few friends who have also been married for a long period of time. We seem to worry less about the small things and try to enjoy ourselves..more than ever since we have grown older.

Yesterday we took the South Shore train to Chicago. Neither of us had ridden the train before so it was a new and fairly pleasant experience. We walked around the downtown area and went into lots of shops with very HIGH prices. I spotted a red fur jacket that I thought was fake fur until I looked at the price tag. $7495...."dyed plucked mink and dyed fox collar.) It was gorgeous but I would have loved it even more if it was fake and affordable. LOL

Both of us are nearing the retirement age. This is something I have been looking forward to and something my husband is not so sure about. He may continue to work if he can. He would like to work out a part-time basis if he can convince the powers that be that it is workable. I would like that for him too.

I, on the other hand, would like to retire, get healthier, cook more, learn some new skills, read and relax and journal to my heart's content. I wonder who will be retired by the end of 2006? ME! ME! ME! I hope.

I am employed part time. I work Monday through Thursday. I like having Friday off and a 3 day weekend.

Our son celebrated his 2nd wedding anniversary and we love our daughter in law as much as if she were our own daughter.

We have two step grand-daughters. One just had her 17th birthday and is a junior in high school. The other had her 14th birthday in September and is in 8th grade. They are both sweet girls and we enjoy seeing them.

We have two cats. One is several years old and must weigh about 20 lbs. She has long dark charcoal grey fur. The other is 7 months old, she is a calico, fun of spunk, energy and the ability to make us laugh every day.

We have a house that we love very much. We have more than enough space and yet, somehow, have managed to fill it up. It is paid for too, which is a great bonus.

All in all, we have had a good year in 2005.

NOW ON TO 2006!!!!

My intentions are to get healthy, change my eating habits, exercise more (anything more than NOTHING is a plus!)

I also want to cook more, making better and healthier meals for us.

I want to read more books and get all my magazines read that are stacked up,

I have signed up for flylady.com. with the intention of getting the clutter in my house cleaned up and feeling better about my life. I want to feel I am controling what I do and not stressing because I don't feel that I have done enough to make our home presentable. It IS usually fine but underneath, I always feel it could be improved. I understand this program is very easy, fun, and becomes a regular habit once you have done it for a few weeks.

THE CHINESE YEAR OF THE ROOSTER IS NEARLY OVER.

THE NEXT CHINESE YEAR TO BE CELBRATED IS THE YEAR OF THE DOG.

HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ALL. ENJOY YOUR CELEBRATION AND BE CAREFUL. I HOPE THE YEAR OF 2006 BRINGS YOU JOY, HAPPINESS, CONTENTMENT, HEALTH AND LOVE.

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!