My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

7:40 p.m. - 2005-12-28
POST HOLIDAY BLAHS
Wednesday, December 28, 2005

It is only a few days since Christmas was over and I just can't seem to get into the spirit of celebrating the new year that is coming up.

We had a great Christmas, probably one of the nicest we have had in a long time. We had about 16 people here for Christmas Eve. I made dinner and the others brought extra food. We had a delicious meal, the weather was good and we spent several hours talking. We exchanged gifts. Apparently no one told me that the gift of the year was to make "snack-type foods". Not only inexpensive but tasty too. I, on the other hand, had purchased gifts for all, especially chosen for each family, wrapped them and given them out. So we probably spent 3 times more than the rest of the families. Next year, I am all about saving money and will be either cutting waaaay back on the gifts or making my own "snacks".

On Christmas Day, we went to our son and daughter-in law's house. A favorite cousin and her husband were invited also. The 2 step-grand daughters were there. We exchanged gifts....lots of gifts. It was so much fun...we were buried in a sea of colorful wrapping paper and boxes and we had a great time.

It isn't that the gifts are the important part but it was fun to give them special things. The gifts my husband and I received were very special to us too. They were obviously thought about and the selections were made with love. We had a wonderful day. We had Monday off also and spent most of the day trying to get the house back in order and to rest up for the work week.

But something happened then.....
I got kind of depressed or overwhelmed or something....

Any of you feel a little like this? I do.

I am so tired and I just can't seem to get back into the festive mood I was in last week at this time.

We do have plans for Friday. We are taking the South Shore train from our town to Chicago, Il. We want to see the windows at Marshall Field's Dept. store. Since Macy's is changing the name; the windows might not be as beautiful as they have been in the past. Chicago's State Street was known for the Marshall Field's windows at Christmas. Hopefully, the day won't be too cold and we will be able to walk around the other stores too before it is time to take the train back home. We have never ridden the train so that, in itself, will be an adventure. One of our friend's is going with us too.

On New Year's Eve, our friend and her husband will join us and we will
go to dinner at one of our favorite restaurants. Probably we will be home well before midnight and tucked in our warm bed sleeping new year in.

I need to start back on my carbo addicts lifestyle diet. I haven't been feeling well and I know it is because I have been eating too much junk.....and now I have junk in my trunk....and I don't want junk in my trunk. So that will be my goal for 2006 to lose weight and feel better

HAPPY NEW YEAR !!!!



analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!