My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

5:14 p.m. - 2005-11-13
thanksgiving plans

Sunday, November 13, 2005

Currently Listening
Thanksgiving Dinner-Classics for Family & Friends
By Thanksgiving Dinner-Classics for Family & Friends
see related

HOLIDAYS AND FAMILY DINNERS

This is the time of year that families gather together for holiday dinners. Generally, I look forward to the Thanksgiving family get-together because my brother-in-law and his wife have been hosting this special occasion for several years. The past two years, the dinner has been at their new home which is out in the country and is very large and very beautiful. It is such fun to spend the day together. It is really fun for me because I work during the week. I enjoy taking something to contribute to the dinner and spending the time with the various family members. We catch up on what has been going on and what we are planning for the holiday seasons. We see the children growing up and enjoy watching them get re-introduced to their cousins. Now, of course, we are watching our own children's children play with their cousins.

This year, however, the plan has changed. My brother-in-law and his wife have purchased low fare plane tickets to Florida. This means, of course, that the Thanksgiving dinner is on my shoulders. I wasn't too upset, it would just be our son, daughter in law, two step-daughters and a favorite cousin and her husband. Just the 8 of us. They have been to our house several times, they have eaten my cooking, they are familar guests.

However, as fate would have it, there has been a slight change. My sister from Southern Indiana is coming. This is fine. She has been here several times, she makes herself at home and there are no unrealistic expectations. But, now my sister from Texas is flying in. That is great, we will enjoy her company and she doesn't have any special demands. but......she is bringing her boyfriend. We like him very much but...he has never been to my house, he has never eaten my cooking and he isn't too fond of cats.

We have 2 cats. One, the older one, will make herself scarce while the company is here. They may see a dark grey streak zoom by at faster-than-sound speed as Dakota runs for cover. But, we have a new kitten. She is 6 months old and unpredictable. Will she find a dusty bunny and deliver it proudly to the center of the kitchen floor? Will she expectorate a hair ball right when we are about to eat? Will she try to bite the boyfriend or worse yet, try to eat his hair? Oh, the horror of it all.

I can only hope my house looks presentable. What little corner of grunge have I missed? Will there be some area that is so messy, I have learned to not even see it? Will he think my Texas sister's housekeeping habits were learned from me !!!


They will only be here for the night before Thanksgiving and the day of....then they are going back to Southern Indiana where one sister lives. They are renting a truck and will help her pack up her belongings and move to Texas. (for those of you who read the journals regularly...you know who I am talking about!) Yes, the big day is coming and apparently I have become part of the plan.

But she is only taking her belongings and personal possessions. He can keep the rented house. He is a good guy but not husband material. I wish it was over because it is so time consuming and tense. I am sure it is terrible for my sister to talk to him everyday and know what she is planning. but anyway....

To get back to the holidays... Once I get past Thanksgiving....in only 4 weeks after that is Christmas!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Well, at least I have my.......oh oh, I have to finish the shopping, wrap the gifts, decorate, plan the menu, cook the food and start all over again. This time all the family (with the exception of my sisters) will be at our house as they are every Christmas Eve.

And my husband doesn't think it is a big deal to have the family here....

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!