My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

11:04 a.m. - 2005-09-25
Rufus Rooster

Sunday, September 25, 2005


Currently Listening
Chicken Dance (Vocal Version)
By The Happy Organ & Fowl Four
see related


I collect chickens and I just happened to "mention" that the local grocery store had these humongus stuffed animals on sale for $9.99. I also cleverly mentioned that there was the cutest chicken there but I didn't want to spend the money. Of course, my wonderful husband had to rush over and surprise me with Rufus Rooster. He was sitting in my recliner chair, just chillin' when I came upstairs yesterday (Rufus, that is...) Rufus is about the size of a 5 year old child with extra long legs and an obesity problem.

Yes, my husband is a good man. He takes good care of me and our family and he loves our cat and kitten too. Right now he is trying to get a picture of our kitten so we can put it on the profile.

BUT....he has a little problem. He is so organized and needs to have everything in its place. ANALNESS COMES TO MIND!

For example, when we first got married, I found out that he didn't like any of his food to touch...no gravy, no veggies mixed in with the mashed potatos, no ketchup touching the meat. I finally bought him a separated plastic picnic plate which surpriseingly enough made him very happy. (PS. He doesn't use it anymore but he still doesn't want his food to touch....cooties...I guess.)

Also when I do laundry, his over-the-calf socks which are all white have to be paired up according to length. Yes, they are all the same size but they shrink up a bit in the dryer and he thinks he has to pair them up by length. I, of course, would just pull on the shorter one to make them the same size...but he folds his own socks now.

The mayonnaise has to be spread to all sides of the bread. Apparently the bread needs it that way...oh, oh, I almost forgot, the bread is taken out of the bag by twos so you can put the two pieces back together and they fit perfectly.

He is very neat and puts everything away...in fact he puts it away so well that sometimes he can't find it. Then, of course, he asks ME where it is as if I have a location device embedded in my uterus (Thanks, Roseanne Barr).

Let's see, what else. Oh yes, when he was a police officer, I had to tack down the corners of his collar on his open shirts so the collar stood up and didn't just lay there. He would shine his badge and brass buttons every week and then they were put on the shirt just so. He did look good in his uniform so it was worth it. He used to put a shiny coating on his gun belt and it looked like patent leather because it was so bright and black. I think he might have shined up his bullets too but I can't swear to it.

For years he would not wear short sleeved dress shirts (except for his summer uniform). Instead he wore a full sleeved shirt and rolled the sleeves up to just the correct spot. They had to match on both sides so I often would have to adjust them to the proper length once he had put on the shirt.

He lines up his boots and slippers under our bench in the bedroom. Sometimes I bump them while I am vacumning. Guess what? I don't bend over and straighten them up. He has to have something to do when he gets home!.

I was just informed this morning that we are getting too much e-mail. He detests spam and junk mail. If I don't read through the e-mail and delete what isn't important, he has a little "incident" of anxiety. He has to get the e-mail cleared up every day. I didn't know it but sometimes when I just delete and don't open up the item, it makes the Delete box BOLD!!!!! OH MY, he has a fit. There must be some sort of anal attacker in the "boldness". I had no idea that it bothered him, actually, I had no idea that the computer Delete box was Bold. I just was trying to get the junk off the screen so he didn't have to see it. Now he is obsessed because I get messages from Xanga on the e-mail.

Maybe what I need is my own computer so he doesn't have to look at it and get upset over the disorganization.

He used to be anal about washing his truck every week. That has slowed down since he now is anal about the lawn. He mows and cuts and edges and weeds and and and...whatever else there is to do every Saturday for hours.

Sunday he just walks around trying to find something to do. It is hard for him to relax. He does like televison and his TIVO so that is something to do when he is not outside.

Now you know almost all about my husband. He is a wonderful man and very good to me. He has been able to over look the magazines scattered around my recliner and the books piled up and my other little nesting things. Actually he spends a lot of time in the basement where his tv and recliner are and the computer....Oh yes, he doesn't like overhead lights on either and actually turned them off last week when I was showing the house to some friends. I told him we couldn't see to walk around and they were looking at some pictures on the wall at the time.

We have been together since senior year in high school and married for 40 years so I am used to most of his quirks. But every day I learn about a new one. Our little disagreements usually don't last for long.

Oh, he is calling me, he can't find something he put away.

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!