My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

6:23 a.m. - 2005-09-11
Oakridge Boys
One day someone's spouse died, and on that clear, cold morning, in the warmth of their bedroom, the remaining spouse was struck with the pain of learning that sometimes there isn't any more. No more hugs, no more special moments to celebrate together, no more phone calls just to chat, no more "just one minute." Sometimes, what we care about the most gets all used up and goes away never to return before we can say good-bye, say "I love you." So while we have it . . . it's best we love it . . . and care for it and fix it when it's broken . . . and heal it when it's sick. This is true for marriage . . and old cars . . . and children with bad report cards and dogs with bad hips and aging parents and grandparents. We keep them because they are worth it, because we are worth it. Some things we keep -- like a best friend who moved away or a classmate we grew up with. There are just some things that make us happy, no matter what. Life is important, like people we know who are special . . . and so, We keep them close! I received this from someone who thought I was a 'keeper'! Then I sent It to the people I think of in the same way. Now it's your turn to send this to all those people who are "keepers" in your life. ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ Oak Ridge Boys, The Lyri cs

Elvira Lyrics


Elvira, Elvira
My heart's on fire Elvira

Eyes that look like heaven, lips like sherry wine
That girl can sure enough make my little light shine
I get a funny feelin' up and down my spine
'Cause I know that my Elvira's mine

I'm singin'
Elvira, Elvira
My heart's on fire, Elvira

Giddy Up Oom Poppa Omm Poppa Mow Mow
Giddy Up Oom Poppa Omm Poppa Mow Mow
Heigh-ho Silver, away

Tonight I'm gonna meet her at the Hungry House Cafe
And I'm gonna give her all the love I can, yes I am
She's gonna jump and holler
'Cause I saved up my last two dollars
We're gonna search and find that preacher man

Now I'm a singin'
Elvira, Elvira
My heart's on fire Elvira

Giddy Up Oom Poppa Omm Poppa Mow Mow
Giddy Up Oom Poppa Omm Poppa Mow Mow
Heigh-ho Silver, away

Elvira, Elvira
My heart's on fire Elvira

Giddy Up Oom Poppa Omm Poppa Mow Mow
Giddy Up Oom Poppa Omm Poppa Mow Mow
Heigh-ho Silver, away

Elvira, Yeah...
Elvira
My heart's on fire Elvira

Giddy Up Oom Poppa Omm Poppa Mow Mow
Giddy Up Oom Poppa Omm Poppa Mow Mow
Heigh-ho Silver, away

Elvira, Yeah...
Elvira
My heart's on fire Elvira...


Last night we went to an Oak Ridge Boys concert. It lasted about 1-1/2 hrs. There was no opening act. It was the Oakridge Boys and their 6 man band. They sang one song after another including God Bless America and The Star Spangled Banner. They said they are singing those songs for the Pittburgh football game today.

They sounded just as good as they did about 27 years ago when they first become known. They also look the same. William Lee has the long white beard and hair just as he has had for years. Joe doesn't have his long dark curly hair> It is cut close to his head and grey but he still jumps all over the stage. He has so much energy. Duane is still the great lead singer and dresses in a casual suit jacket and Don has that deep bass voice. His hair is longer and very curly and he has a mustache. They were extremely connected with the audience. The Playhouse is a theater in the round but they all walked all over the stage and faced a different part of the audience during their songs so you had a chance to see all 4 of them during the show.

We went with our son and DIL and had a great evening together. I think we would enjoy traveling together for a short trip...sometime to think about some day.

Tomorrow is back to work again. We should be grateful we both have jobs and our home and family.




analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!