My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

11:41 a.m. - 2005-08-21
HOW MUCH IS IT?


Best Prayer I Have Heard In A Long Time...

Heavenly Father, Help us remember that the jerk who cut us off in traffic last night is a single mother who worked nine hours that day and is rushing home to cook dinner, help with homework, do the laundry and spend a few precious moments with her children.

Help us to remember that the pierced, tattooed, disinterested young man who can't make change correctly is a worried 19-year-old college student, balancing his apprehension over final exams with his fear of not getting his student loans for next semester.

Remind us, Lord, that the scary looking bum, begging for money in the same spot every day (who really ought to get a job!) is a slave to addictions that we can only imagine in our worst nightmares.

Help us to remember that the old couple walking annoyingly slow through the store aisles and blocking our shopping progress are savoring this moment, knowing that, based on the biopsy report she got back last week, this will be the last year that they go shopping together.

Heavenly Father, remind us each day that, of all the gifts you give us, the greatest gift is love. It is not enough to share that love with those we hold dear. Open our hearts not to just those who are close to us, but to all humanity. Let us be slow to judge and quick to forgive, show patience, empathy and love.


Now on to other things on my mind today.


COUPONS (cue-pons OR kOO-pons)

WHAT WOULD WE DO WITHOUT COUPONS....

I cut them out faithfully every Sunday, I rip them out of newspapers and magazines, I save them because I KNOW I WILL USE THEM SOMEDAY.

I have a special drawer in my kitchen where they are stored. Somehow, most of them just stay in the dark, multiply, and finally die when the expiration date comes and goes.

I do use some of them when I shop. I am like most women, I LOVE A BARGAIN! There is nothing like finding what you need and it's on sale

AND. YOU. HAVE. A. COUPON. FOR AN ADDITONAL AMOUNT OFF. OH, HAPPY DAY.

When have you gone to the department store and found just the perfect t-shirt, sweater, blouse, slacks,jeans, skirt, shoes, purse, cosmetics or jewelry and it just happens to be a Buy One, get one for 50% off? You know that really isn't a bargain...you are actually paying 75% on each. I like the BUY ONE - GET ONE for $1 better.

One of the larger well-known department stores in our area has a sale nearly every week. That makes me wonder just how high do they markup to begin with? You can't have a sale with 25% or 50% OFF every time and be making money UNLESS the markup is very high at the start.

And with food products or cosmetics, getting 10% off is nothing. Or you get the $2.00 off coupon but you have to buy 3 to get it...that doesn't amount to very much, especially if it is something like cereal that gets stale before you use it up.

Another thing I didn't know is that pop, soda, soft drinks, or whatever- you-call-it-in-your-area has an expiration date. So if you stock up on it at a great price; chances are it will be past the expiration date before you are ready to consume it.

I love to try new products but it seems like I buy the products and then a month later, the coupon will show up...maybe it is because I don't read my magazines promptly....LOL

I guess it is fun to clip the coupons and find the bargains. I know some people love to shop and are very proud when they get their groceries for just a few dollars each time. Some of them even save the codes and get free merchandise. Good for them.

Personally, I would rather get the products for less money ALL THE TIME and forget all about the coupons.

I guess I had better clean out the coupon drawer. I noticed I was having problems closing it yesterday.

Until later, GOOD SHOPPING.!!!

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!