My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

5:03 p.m. - 2005-08-02
I just can't stand it.
Tuesday, August 02, 2005

I feel a ranting coming on. My husband is a retired policeman, my son is a dispatcher for our city for police and fire, my daughter in law works for a family violence center which has the prosecutors who work up the cases of violence including emotional, physical and sexual abuse. Over the years we have all talked about some very horrible situations and they have worsen so much in the past few years. My daughter in law says they get 20-25 new cases every week.

Just recently a 3 month baby girl was put in the hospital. She had healing fractures of both legs, new fractures of both legs, healing injuries to her arms, a bashed eye socket and she will probably lose the sight of her eye and brain injuries and skull injuries. She has a 3 year old sibling who does not talk much. From what they believe, the mother did it. In the original news article; the neighbors talked about how nice the mother was and how much she loved her adorable children. What happens to these people? Is it depression? Does it "make" them do this? Why don't they get some help? How have these little innocent children lived through all the pain? Why do these kinds of people have babies so easily when there are couples who are crying for a child?

IT MAKES ME SICK.

There are so many babies born every day that will never have the love of a parent. So many babies who don't have enough to eat, don't learn about love and nuturing. They will grow up to do the same thing. They will probably not be successful in their lives. There is only so much the government and even we taxpayers can do. We can't take care of all of these abandoned, unloved and badly cared for children. What is going to happen to our country if we don't do something right now? I know there are caseworkers who must cry every day on their jobs about the people they can't help out of the mess. I know there are doctors and lawyers, police and firemen who see this kind of abuse and can't get the children away from the abuser especially if it is a parent. How many doctors, nurses, paramedics and EMS people must feel helpless because all they can do is put a bandaide on some of these children. How many more counselors, family therapists, clergy and abuse caretakers are going to burn out because they can't make the change happen? One of my sisters is a teacher. She said she spends more time counseling and babysitting the 7th graders than she does teaching them what they are supposed to be learning. And the bad thing is the children don't care so she feels helpless.

I don't have an answer but I do think there has to be some kind of program that parents, foster parents, adoptive parents must go through to learn (in school) how to take care of your children. They need to learn what good love is, how to take care of yourself so you have the motivation to take care of your family. I think programs like family living, budgeting, marriage, living in our society and working-to-make-your-money should be mandatory in high school to graduate. I know the Welfare system has to be revised. It is too much of an incentive for girls to get pregnant, get Aid for Dependent Children, Section 8 housing, food stamps, free clothing and food at various shelters and just sit in their apt watching tv, eating and drinking and smoking and getting pregnant for the next baby.

OK, I'M DONE...I AM JUST MAKING MYSELF MORE UPSET.

And....our cat, Chloe, is very sick. I took her to the vet yesterday. she either has an infection in her mouth by her tongue or tumors. We are treating her for a week with antibotics and pain meds. She will see the vet next Monday. if she is no better, we may have to let her go. She has lost over 2 lbs in a couple of weeks; she weighs 5.30 lbs. She hasn't been able to eat.

Keep good thoughts for her.

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!