My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

5:32 p.m. - 2005-07-19
my senior moments
Tuesday, July 19, 2005

Currently Reading
Cage's Bend
By Carter Coleman
see related

I decided today that I need to EARN my journal name. Since I am a Senior ( by biological years only) I now have to right to express my opinion without fear of retaliation. I thought about all the things that irritate me so here goes....

When I returned home early Sunday morning because there was no flight from Detroit after 9:00 P.M) i.e. my first irritation. My suitcase was still enroute in the airport caverns and was not delivered to my local airport until after 9:00 A.M. on Sunday. Therefore, I had to find and use some older beauty aids to wash my face, and moisterize, and tone, and protect my skin over night while I slept in my own bed. I remembered why I liked some of those old products.

Later I re-discovered my mini-lash mascara that I loved and the blush that went on so smoothly and the eye shadow I used to wear. Instead of using the new stuff like the mascara that looks like a mutant cotton wad on a stick and never puts enough mascara on my lashes to make me look like I have any. You need to know that I am not a hairy person, thin lashes, and little body hair. I bet I don't have to shave my legs more than twice a year and that is only on the lower leg!! I can't even comment on how many hair removal products there must be since I don't use them. LOL.

Anyhow that got me thinking about how we have so much and so many choices to make about nearly everything we use, see, smell and eat. I mean just how many types of toothpaste do we really need, flavored or not, gel or paste, vanilla or cherry, anti cavity or anti bad breath or super-duper-puper anti-everything. I even had my dentist ask me what I was using because the tissues on the inside of my mouth were shredding. That means there is too much chemical in the toothpaste.

And what about shampoo?......shampoo & conditioner combined, shampoo or conditioner for dyed hair, shampoo or conditioner for thin hair, for frizzy hair, for uncontrollable hair, for fake hair, curly or straight hair. For pete's sake, just make it for cleaning hair.

And what about the scents...personally, I don't want to smell like a fruit. I don't want to smell like vanilla or cinnamon or papaya or melon. It just makes me hungry!!!! Please don't give me fruit scented beauty products. I want to smell clean and maybe even like a flower but not ORANGE-BANANA-LIME-LEMON.

Speaking of fruits, why don't they taste good anymore? They use so many chemicals to make them bigger and shinier and longer lasting that they don't have room for flavor.!!! It used to be that you cut off the bruised part or cut out the worm hole and ate the rest. It was good too.

And back to the airline. Why can't you get a flight after 9:00 P.M. to a fairly good sized town? Why can't you get some food too. I paid $3 for a "snack pack" which was the size of a video cartridge. It had 4 little cookies, 1 small granola bar, a handful of unseasoned and unsalted nuts (ugh) 4 crackers and a little spreadable package of cheese (the size of a butter pat.) I did get a whole can of Diet Coke, though...

I don't think I have time to rant about clothing for women who don't want any delicate parts of their anatomy hanging out for view. You can't buy a decent part of slacks or a blouse that fits anymore. You can't get a variety of styles to wear and WHY CAN'T THE DESIGNERS USE VERTICAL STRIPES FOR WOMEN. They manage to design dress shirts for men without horizonal striped just fine...don't they? And Plu--eeze don't tell me that thongs or boy panties are comfortable...give me a break.

I guesss that is enough ranting for today. After all, we all KNOW women are so emotional that I probably should take a tranquilizer...hmmm. how many of those are on the market?

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!