My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

10:25 a.m. - 2005-06-19
And how did you spend your weekend?
My husband and I helped Son and DIL paint 3 bedrooms at their home yesterday. Husband told DIL,she should feel special because I haven't painted in years. The smell of paint used to make me sick. But, apparently they have taken the smell out because I was up close and personal with the paint yesterday.

I did the areas around the windows, plugs, floor, corners where the roller can't go. I did two rooms and it didn't bother me at all. The first room which is #1 step grand daughter was already neon turquoise...she wanted "mellow yellow" which is actually bright screaming yellow...like the smiley face!!! And it didn't want to cover up the turquoise. No Sir, no way!!! Husband gave it two coats and is going back today to be sure it covered.

The Son and DIL's room was a like milky chocolate (like cocoa). It covered up a light blue very well. The basement bedroom for step grand-daugher #2 was charcoal grey covering up ugly old paneling. Son and DIL did that room and it actually turned out very nice.

They have a lot of work to do over there. After furniture is removed and the house is empty; you really see all the imperfections and the dirt. DIL had to clean the stove; it was filthy with grease on the top, burners, knobs. The self cleaning oven wasn't bad at all. The rest of the house needs more TLC, which it is getting. The outside looks very nice.

They will be moving in on Wednesday and are very excited to be in their own home. The girls are happy too and can't wait to have their own rooms painted in their choice of colors. Maybe it will help them keep their rooms cleaned up....LOL.

Husband and I are thinking about taking a cruise next January, 2006. We have taken 2 cruises in the past two years. The first one to the Eastern Carribean out of Miami and the second out of Ft. Lauderdale to the Western Carribean. We preferred the Eastern cruise. Now we are thinking of flying to San Juan and going on a cruise in that area. We go on the Royal Carribean line. Then we will probably not take another cruise for awhile...or at least not until we retire because we would have to go during the summer to visit Alaska.

I don't know why I went from painting a house to a cruise but I guess I was thinking of the ultimate reward!!

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!